Ipsy vs Birchbox: August Edition!

Hi lovelies! I have missed you. As expected having a new job has kept me quite busy…which means I have so been missing blogging and checking in on all my fellow bloggers (who I adore!). I knew once I got my mail late last night that this blog couldn’t wait too long. I now have both my happy little subscriptions in my happy little hands and I cannot wait to share! Lets go!

First Ipsy:

This bag is cute and retro. I am such a sucker for anything retro!
This bag is cute and retro. I am such a sucker for anything retro!
I have tried Hikari a couple other times thanks to Ipsy, but never the lip gloss. I am obsessed with this color, Salsa!
I have tried Hikari a couple other times thanks to Ipsy, but never the lip gloss. I am obsessed with this color, Salsa!
Oooh Jesse's mom has...wait I mean Jesse's Girl Cosmetics. I love anything primer so this is a great addition to my collection.
Oooh Jesse’s mom has…wait I mean Jesse’s Girl Cosmetics. I love anything primer so this is a great addition to my collection.
First, sorry the lighting wasn't great for this. It is a black eyeliner pencil by Doucce.
First, sorry the lighting wasn’t great for this. It is a black eyeliner pencil by Doucce.
Again, another darkish image! Oops! This is a lip liner in Wine by Ofra. This could definitely create a Kylie Jenner lip!
Again, another darkish image! Oops! This is a lip liner in Wine by Ofra. This could definitely create a Kylie Jenner lip!
Last is a hair care product. I have learned to enjoy these more as they come nearly every month. This is Moroccan Argan oil by Marc Anthony...sounds fancy!
Last is a hair care product. I have learned to enjoy these more as they come nearly every month. This is Moroccan Argan oil by Marc Anthony…sounds fancy!

Next Birchbox:

Such a cute box, but not as usable? Does that make sense? I mean it is cute, but once summer is over not very function.
Such a cute box, but not as usable? Does that make sense? I mean it is cute, but once summer is over not very function.
Two cards are featured inside. One is a special offer and the other is the beloved item descriptions!
Two cards are featured inside. One is a special offer and the other is the beloved item descriptions!
I so love the description card!!
I so love the description card!!
Coola Matte Tint with SPF..obviously a great item for summer. I have oily skin so I am excited to give this a try.
Coola Matte Tint with SPF..obviously a great item for summer. I have oily skin so I am excited to give this a try.
Oh so pretty! This is a LAQA & Co, lip and cheek crayon. The color is so pretty and bold. I don't know if I am brave enough to use this on my cheeks. I don't know if my blending abilities are there yet!
Oh so pretty! This is a LAQA & Co, lip and cheek crayon. The color is so pretty and bold. I don’t know if I am brave enough to use this on my cheeks. I don’t know if my blending abilities are there yet!
Thanks to Birchbox I have come to really enjoy Rusk products. This is a mouse which will be a great item to add to my travel case!
Thanks to Birchbox I have come to really enjoy Rusk products. This is a mouse which will be a great item to add to my travel case!
This is a spot blemish treatment, but it is called a serum. Interesting. It is made by Balance Me.
This is a spot blemish treatment, but it is called a serum. Interesting. It is made by Balance Me.
I really liked this brand, Klorane, the last time I received it. I also LOVE dry shampoo. I use it a lot to make styles and hair color last longer. This is formulated for brunettes, which is a nice feature.
I really liked this brand, Klorane, the last time I received it. I also LOVE dry shampoo. I use it a lot to make styles and hair color last longer. This is formulated for brunettes, which is a nice feature.

Final Thoughts:

I must say both subscriptions met my expectations this month. All the products seem usable and there was a nice mixture of products. I will say that Ipsy gave me the only true full size product..I am a sucker for those! Birchbox, did give the lip and cheek crayon, which could basically fall under a full size product. Also, the Birchbox gave two travel size hair care items, which is great for my upcoming trip! Hmmm…I don’t know if I have a favorite this month! How about you guys? Talk soon!

Published by

MsLaynieLashes

I have a passion...(Okay, obsession!) for all things pretty- makeup, hair, clothes, jewelry, etc. You know all things BEAUTY! I may enjoy a good 1950s do and a cat eye, but it doesn't stop there. Follow my blog to hear honest reviews, fun tutorials, and my random thoughts of the day! I look forward to exploring beauty with you!

Leave a Reply

